ATTACK OF THE INTERGALACTIC GHERKINS - FAQ's

If you play a solar eclipse card and draw a gherkin, do you get to keep the other card?

If the first card drawn is a Gherkin Attacks card, then the player's turn ends immediately and another card is not drawn. If however, a Gherkin Attacks card is drawn as the second card, then the first card can be kept (within the four card limit) and then the player's turn ends.

if you play an Alliterating aliens card on the planet that you are on, do you lose a card as well?

Yes, all players at the planet lose a card, even if you were the one who played Alliterating Aliens.